Pregnancy Nook: Highlights of Week 33

April 3-9, 2013

As I see the endless white fluffy snow on the ground and everywhere, I can’t believe that I was running outside last week during Week 33! 33Weeks_runMy bump and appetite may be growing rapidly but my ambition and motivation has also exceeded my expectations for this 3rd trimester. Energy levels continue to INCREASE, I feel this is due to the excitement of home improvements and progress as well as the lovely weather that was brought during this time.

We are pretty much gutting our back yard with the help of my parents. The good old fashion hard work and dirty sweat have been literally a breath of fresh air!

Week 33 Highlights:
All day Saturday (race and spending quality time with my little girl)
Snow day on Tuesday. I’m so glad we finally got some moisture, not only for our lawn but more importantly for the farmers.

Week 33 Lows: NONE, it was a great week!

Week 33 Symptoms: heartburn, increase in braxton hicks

Week 33 Cravings: cookies (now that Lent is over) and either lemony desserts or desserts in general. A good trick though is that your body is actually craving protein when you think you want sweets; therefore, I’ve been having a few spoonfuls of greek yogurt when I think I’m craving cookies

Nutrition Nook: With a 100% functional kitchen, I’ve been working on getting used to cooking again! Let me tell you, we definitely got into a groove of eating the same few meals that involved little preparation and then one day I thought, what am I thinking, our kitchen is pretty much complete and ready to use (pics to come as soon as we get the last few bits)! I’ve been reading up on all the “cook ahead” pins and freezer meals that I want to start getting prepared but we have one little problem…or should I say 2 little problems.

Yup, that’s 2 turkeys! They were free and they have been hanging out with us for 5 months now. I think it’s time I cook my first turkey, what do you think?

Here’s a rundown of my typical nutrition this week:
Breakfast: greek yogurt with berries or overnight oats
Snack: apples, cuties or bananas
Lunch: “Nacho” salad made with spinach, spicy cheese, crushed up chips and salsa
Snack: PB, milk, more fruit and something crunchy like cereal
Supper: kid friendly foods lately like eggs, chicken crockpot meals, carrots, sweet potatoes

Week 33 Workouts:
I was more than excited about my increased running and getting used to working out at the new house. Because I’m lighter and “empty” in the morning, I prefer to exercise in the morning. After little bug heads to bed my tummy feels like it’s going to explode and the thought of fast movements or burpees is not appealing to me or my lovely heartburn. But here is what I did accomplish this week in the workout world.

Wed: 30 min morning workout
Thu: 20 min run with 5 min warm-up and cool-down; outside work in the yard for 40 minutes
Fri: AM: 20 min workout (insanity warm-up, weights and stretching); 30 min run “runch”
Sat: 4 mile race + 2 additional miles walking
Sun: REST
Mon: REST
Tue: 10 min insanity warm-up, Burpee Challenge (I started at 5 instead of 10), Trouble Area Workout (1 time through but I jogged in place for 20 seconds between each exercise), prenatal yoga stretch= total time about 40 minutes

721c1110fe76ca3328d9136d888921f6 985ae67a51fb51985e92652ef2aa6f8c

Work Belly Bumps: 29 and 33 weeks (both 2nd pregnancies). Having 2 pregnant co-workers has been so enjoyable. From moods, cravings and symptoms…it’s wonderful having someone to talk with daily who literally knows exactly how you are feeling and thinking!

33Weeks_workWeek 33 Belly Pics

33Weeks

Additional thoughts:
Boy or Girl? No clue, time will tell. I’m leaning towards girl (today); I just don’t know. The kicks are movments are similiar to little bug’s but stronger.

I know that once this baby is born my whole world will center around a fun summer of maternity leave with the kids (the Black Hills in the summer is pure awesomeness), but I really do hope I can document my journey back to “getting the pre-baby body back.” As a fitness nerd I do find it fascinating and inspiring to see “real” people get back into pre-pregnancy shape and I hope to be one of those people. I would have liked to document this pregnancy better but I’m not going to beat myself up about it. We bought a house, which was not expected, and I’d much rather make sure I have a home to bring this baby to come May. We shall see though. I would love to do the Crazy Horse 1/2 Marathon in October but I don’t know how nursing and long distance training would work into the schedule.

In the meantime, I’ll keep plugging along with the endless to-do lists and savoring every moment as a mommy of 1! Check out the senior picture pose here!

DSCN4032

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Nook, Pregnancy, Runners Nook

Leave a Reply

