Pregnancy Nook: Highlights of Week 18

December 19-25, 2012

DSCN3213

Hello and goodbye Christmas. Just like “that” it was done and over; what a shame — it was my favorite Christmas to date. Pretty sure I say this every year. Little bug gets Christmas!!
DSCN3156

I thought I was the queen of Christmas in our household but it looks like this little one is taking my title. From decorating the tree to baking cookies, learning Christmas tunes and being my wrapping assistant, we had a lovely WHITE Christmas. Santa must have thought our little girl was a very good this year!

DSCN3149

Other than heartburn, I had no real Week 18 Symptoms. Yay for Tums!

I’m excited about…our doctors appointments. (We just had a 19 week apt yesterday) The 20 week ultrasound is the 4th…will we find out the gender?

I’m anxious about…little bug’s potty training. Technically it was a success BUT she HOLDS IT ALL DAY. I’ve done a bit of research and I am prepared for an interesting weekend to help her relax on the potty. From someone who visits the bathroom 20 times a day, I’m baffled that she holds it for 12 hours. After googling  this is not unusual I guess; for some reason, that always makes me feel better. So we shall see! (Update: she finally stopped holding it tonight. Thank goodness.)

Nutrition Nook:
I’ve been experimenting with some recipes off Pintrest. 4 recipes, 4 successes. Unheard of from my experience. Does anyone else get a few that bomb big style?
187532771955364995_J7M85HKJ_c

These cookies are fantastic and easy to change up! See here

38562140529853492_pMCtekWN_cThis crockpot roast via my high school friend Aimee is by and far the best I’ve had and SO easy. You need to try this!  Combine the ranch, Italian dressing and brown gravy packets with a 1/2 cup of water and pour over roast in a crock pot. I did a 2.5 lb roast on high for 4 hours. I was very short on time and this worked extremely well.

I also tried a cheesy quinoa recipe, why I didn’t pin it I don’t know. I must have stumbled across it somewhere. This was a mommy only dish as the others didn’t appreciate the healthy protein-packed yumminess;  good for me though as this was good for 5 meals. Hopefully I find it again!

One of my favorite Christmas Day traditions is making pancakes for brekkie, I opted for homemade cakes this year via Martha Stewart. I literally took 2 minutes to look and these are pretty basic but I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla for a better flavor punch.
0306_kids_makingpancakes_lLittle bug and hubs gave the approval!
DSCN3180

Even though the holiday was full of great food, I only really splurged on Christmas Eve night when we do snacks. I’m very crackered out now! Christmas meal by my mom was OMG amazing. I love how she doesn’t over-do it. Every meal item is a favorite and it’s prepared perfectly with over-the-top flavor. Thank you Mom and thank you to my brother who provided me with a very special “calorie free” 😉 sweet potato casserole recipe! A new favorite of the entire family!

Week 18 Workouts: I’m not gonna go into much detail about workouts, I did get in 5 or 6 days of workouts but forgot to journal some of them.
Wed: 3.5 mile treadmill run, 10 min prenatal yoga, 5 min killer cardio workout via Pintrest
Thu: (slept in) 5 min warm-up of miscellaneous cardio bits, 5 min stretching; 3 mile lunch run while doing errands
Fri: ? didn’t record, pretty sure I ran during lunch
Sat: 10 min insanity warm-up, 10 min yoga, 6 min HIIT workout, 20 min WOD workouts via here on Pintrest below is one of them
75998312432457891_UBbLEmY0_c

Sun: 3.5 mile treadmill run
Mon: Rest
Tue: 10 min insanity warm-up; 2 WOD workouts

It’s freezing out, so if I can’t get to my parents to run or hubby’s work gym…it’s off to the internet for workout inspiration and motivation! I enjoy the mixed up though and it’s great for the muscles too. Baby handles the workouts well, except for heartburn during burpees.

Week 18 Belly Pics:

Week18_b

Week18_a

Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year! 

DSCN3152

DSCN3024

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Nook, Pregnancy, Runners Nook

Leave a Reply

