Little Moments with Little Bug

Hard to believe that just a few weeks ago I was “sleep walking” during our nighttime play time. Now… it’s a whole other story!! Not only is this 2nd trimester energy burst great for me but it’s great for hubby and our little girl.

DSCN2967

We go from one activity to the next without missing a beat. I’m actually having FUN again playing with her!

DSCN2964

And I do feel horrible admitting that statement above; but there was a 4 week period that I forced every inch of me to appear interested and “in the moment.”

I was snappy, exhausted and boring and that wasn’t fair to her. 24 weeks – that’s approximately how many weeks we have left as a family of 3.  Instead of dreaming and thinking of the future and of our growing family, these 24 weeks need to be about her, about us.

DSCN2982 What can we do now to make this time special? What traditions can we create to be our own? What does she need from us?

DSCN2981

What she needs are her parents spending time WITH her, not AROUND her. There’s a big difference. And oh my goodness what a change the past few weeks have been. Last night was a great Mommy night for me – and hopefully for her too. Seeing her “cut” with her play doh scissors properly for the first time was a very proud moment for both of us and it sure beat the heck out of folding laundry. I cheered, she screamed. It was great!

DSCN2990

Having her join in with me for a quick workout was the most laughable moment yet this week, especially when she got too hot. It sure beat doing it by myself.

DSCN2994

Seeing her perform jumping jacks, running in place, marching, jump squatting…then guzzling water and asking to do it “one more time mommy” was such a great moment. “I bodyrock.” “I bodyrock with mommy.” Awesomeness, pure awesomeness right there.

So instead of thinking I’m almost half way there with this pregnancy or just wanting the baby here, I need to concentrate and cherish what I have right now at this very moment.

Blessed be childhood, which brings down something of heaven into the midst of our rough earthliness.
— Henri Frederic Amiel

Children make you want to start life over.
— Muhammad Ali

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Nook

Leave a Reply

