Pregnancy Nook: Highlights of Week 15

November 28-December 4, 2012

My 15 week appointment with “Dr. F” was short, sweet and to the point. The heart beat was 142/143 and she was excited that I was still working out and running. On a quick note, during my first meeting with my doctor, I specifically asked her about certain exercises I perform daily or regularly and she confirmed that as long as the exercises were not causing pain, I was alright to continue. Just listen to what the body tells you.

I really had no questions and won’t until I receive my paperwork from Spain. Now of course, after watching More The Business of Being Born (youtube trailer is in that link), I have a slew of questions. It’ll just have to wait until December 26th when we have our 20 week appointment. On ANOTHER side note, I highly recommend The Business of Being Born which is the first video. If you have watched it, you know exactly what I’m talking about…if you have not, just watch it. It pretty much shapes how I feel about childbirth.

The other part of the appointment was to get my flu shot and get the AFP Tetra test done (which determines the baby’s risk of developing Down syndrome, trisomy 18 or an open neural tube defect. (Tests came back negative, which is what you want).

I’m excited about…
Taking advantage of the unseasonably warm weather and playing with little bug outside as much as possible! I love having all this extra energy…I’ve been up until midnight most nights this week!
DSCN2937

Favorite Moment…
Little bug seeing the Wizard of Oz display at Story Book Island which is all lit up for the holiday. This is her favorite movie; she calls herself Dorothy. We had to honor her wishes and hang out with the Wizard of Oz team for at least 15 minutes. The joy and glee in her smile was overwhelming. We are working daily on different Christmas themed activities whether it’s coloring or play dough. She is truly understanding and getting into the Christmas spirit!

DSCN2948
DSCN2942

Week 15 Cravings…
OJ; I’m getting very tired of water. Nachos, sausage, pancakes…on Sunday, if I had unlimited food, it would have been scary, I just wanted FOOD. Luckily a cup of coffee solved that issue!

Sample Meals from Week 15:
Breakfast= 1.) Homemade bread with honey and strawberries and a glass of milk. 2.) Oatmeal with 1/2 banana, strawberries, almonds, raisins and a 4oz glass of OJ and milk. 3.) Yogurt with 1/2 banana, raspberries and granola

Snacks= dries figs, nectarines, oatmeal muffins, dried apricots with almonds, cup of homemade broccoli soup

Lunch= 1.) Homemade break with avocado and humus with homemade buffalo chix dip (obsessed with this). 2.) Sweet potato with salsa and greek yogurt.

Supper= 1.) Pizza with salad. 2.) Chix breast topped with spinach/cheese and a kale salad with raw carrot, almonds and cheese topped with oil and vinegar. 3.) Egg, cheese and salsa wrap with a kale salad consisting of onions, raisins, almonds, ranch and salsa. 4.) Egg bake with kale salad

Night snacks= 1.) popcorn and milk. 2.) crackers with jam and cheese and milk. 3.) handful of almonds and milk. Milk is the best at night, it’s a great filler-upper!

Week 15 Workouts: 
Wed:  AM Insanity warm-up 10 minutes, PM Insanity exercises (lots of squatting exercises)
Thu: 10 min Insanity warm-up, Body Rock Girl on Fire workout, 4 mile run during lunch
Fri: 10 min Insanity warm-up, push-ups, 4 miles lunch run
Sat: 2 mile walk
Sun: REST
Mon: 10 min Insanity warm-up, Body Rock Scream and Shout workout,  35 min walk during lunch
Tue: 10 min Insanity warm-up, 10 minute stretch, 4.3 mile lunch

It’s going to start getting colder this week, I hope that I’ll be able to maintain 3 to 4 runs each week. I really enjoy the quick morning workouts immediately after waking up. Not only does is literally warm me up but I then have a great start to the day! I always feel like I eat healthier and have a better attitude throughout the day if I can start off with a quick workout! My lunch runs are around 2 or 3 when the temp is warmest, the only issue here is that I NEED to have a bathroom handy at least twice. Yuck. Other than that, those runs help me get over the afternoon slump that usually occurs during that time.

Week 15: Belly Pics

Week15_c

Week15_a

Okay, we are now all caught up with past pregnancy posts. I hope you’ve been enjoying them! I’ll now start with the present with a bit of less frequency but more details. Thanks to everyone who’s been leaving me personal Facebook messages. I appreciate all the support!

Coming Soon: Baby Wish List and the start of Little Bug’s big girl room transformation

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy, Runners Nook

Leave a Reply

