Nutrition Nook: The Breakfast Club

Are you a breakfast eater or a breakfast skipper? I think you are either one or the other, am I right? Don’t even get me started on all health reasons why you should join the breakfast club. Brekkie is probably my favorite meals of the day: soft pancakes, cheesey omlettes, perfectly buttered waffles, gooey eggs benedict, sticky caramel rolls…I could go on and on; and on and on.

However, I actually never really eat those amazingly rich foods…1), because I’ll feel sluggish after all the high calorie goodness and 2), because who realistically has time to prepare (and clean) that everyday. I secretly hate those who do obviously.

I opt for 3 to 4 breakfast staples to jump-start my day and my run to work for that matter. This meal has to be quick to prepare or be made the previous night. Ingredient must-haves: Minimal artificial crappiness and I prefer it to include fruit, oats and dairy.

Here are a 4 of my breakfast staples lately.

1. Oatmeal: made with 1/4 c. oats, 1/4 c. milk, 1/4 c. water,  a few strawberries and then stirred in yogurt, topped with 1 T granola and more strawberries and chia seeds. Little bug approves as well, this is her breakfast about 4 to 5 days a week. I switch up the fruit for variety.

2. Green Monster smoothie: this is great because it’s done the night before! Yogurt, milk, spinach, berries, apple, flax and chia seeds. The green monster is a great energy booster in the morning and a fab way to incorporate more greens into the day!

3. Oatmeal muffin heated up, cut up and topped with vanilla yogurt, berries of the moment and crunchy chia seeds. Another very approved little bug brekkie.

4. 1/4 c. Granola, handful of berries, 1/2 banana, drizzle of honey, blop of peanut butter and sprinkle of chia seeds…then add cold organic milk. Yum! Crunchy, salty, sweet!

In a nutshell, those are my four breakfast selections. Maybe it’ll give you a few ideas, maybe not. But you CAN make time for breakfast and you should, especially if you workout in the morning. Your body will thank you!

Here are a few fun photos of little bug this week.

A new favorite toy that she received for at her birthday. They are like paper dolls but they are wooden and magnetic. Love these!

She starting locking herself in her room and reading while I workout. I couldn’t be happier 😉

Have a happy Friday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Nook

Leave a Reply

