Runners Nook: Dublin Dash

First race of the year! The 2012 Dublin Dash. Can you believe that this was my first 5k! Distances I’ve conquered have included the 10k, 1/2 marathon and full marathon, but never a 5k!

Lots of warmth and sunshine meant lots of people ready to race!

People-watching was in full gear! Many had already started the morning festivities at some of the local pubs 😉

This was actually a pretty hard 5k to tell you the truth. There was a massive and steep hill less than 1 mile in, but I ran through it and did pretty decent!

Even with the horrendous hill, I did 8:47 splits which I’m pretty cool with considering I had to stop almost immediately for about 45 seconds and retrieve my car keys which were coming loose from my shoe laces! I met the fam downtown for the St. Paddy’s Day Parade! Sadly hubby went to work for the rest of the day.

Here were some parade highlights:

Please notice the chica with the white top in the lower right…let’s just say, she won “most spirited!”

Many errands needed doing today so instead of being outside like I wanted, little bug and I hit the shops…but it wasn’t all bad!

And it’s not in my size!

It was too cute and too on sale to not buy it! Can you believe it…Dri-fit for baby and toddler, the shorts even have the built-in support! (Gordmans…yay!) Well, there is a 10k next weekend, so I guess she’s prepared now 😉

She was such a trooper, 2 1/2 hours of solid walking and shopping with no stroller. The last 20 minutes she needed to be carried but I’d say that’s pretty darn good for a little one 🙂  (Just a sidenote…we got that little rocking chair for $6.50 at an antique store…normally a solid one like that is well above $50; I love a good bargain)

I hope everyone had a great St. Paddy’s Day! It feels very strange that I didn’t go to a bar today, but that’s ok, no complaints here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Runners Nook

Leave a Reply

