Marathon Week: Wednesday – Dress Rehearsal

The picture quality may suck but the clothes and the 3 mile run did not! One important item to check off before attempting to run for 4+ hours straight, do a dress rehearsal. Why? Well, how would you like major chaffing with a bad pair of shorts? How nice would an itchy tag feel for 26.2 miles? If you’ve ever had an itchy tag, and let’s admit that everyone has, then you completely see the point in performing a dress rehearsal.

I met up with a new mommy friend that lives a few streets over who happens to be running the 1/2 marathon on Sunday. 3 miles of baby this, teething that, running this, shopping that and the next thing I knew, it was time for a cool down! I never run with anyone so today’s was a special treat! Here’s the gear I’ll be wearing on Sunday!

From head to knees, it’s Nike! I love my Asics for the feet but much prefer Nike for the bod! This was my birthday gift to myself šŸ™‚

Nike hat from Madrid…sister Laura, the tape stain has yet to come off šŸ˜‰

Dri-fit Nike tank: this is extra long which is great because I have a short torso in comparison to my legs. Having no chest, the built-in bra is the perfect amount of support.

Dri-fit Nike shorts: the BEST Nike shorts I have owned to-date and I would know, all 9 pairs in my drawer are Nike! They are a new style that doesn’t make one look like they have bubble butt!

There ya have it! This is by far my favorite marathon outfit!

Here’s the rundown of today’s nutritional feasts.
1 c. cantaloupe, 1 slice toast with PB, 2 sliced strawbs, a pinch of coconut flakes and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Organic cantaloupe is amazing! A trick my mom taught me, put the ‘loupe in a brown paper sack for 24 hours (set on counter, not fridge); when you cut it up, it will be super juicy šŸ˜‰

Coffee at the mall, Starbucks. No pic of coffee, just a smiling little one!

Lunch was a simple salad.
Mixed greens with 1/3 c black beans, salsa, cheese, 1 T cream cheese plopped around and a small handful of crushed tortilla chips. I then popped it into the microwave for about 45 seconds. I think of it as a nacho salad. Healthier than nachos but just as satisfying!
Big mistake though not adding more carbs, I was starving by 3 and had to break into my work snack.

Work Snack: baby carrots and healthy trail mix (1/4 c. Heart to Heart, 1/4 c. Corn Chex, 1/4 c. Rice Chex, 1/3 c. mixed nuts)

Post-snack: Club crackers topped with PB. It was just a PB day I guess.

I wasn’t the only one having a dress rehearsal today!!!!
Check out the surprise hubby made up for me!

Hubby came home from work on Tuesday night saying he had a surprise. My thought: it better not be junk food or alcohol! Imagine my surprise when he whipped these out!!

I was so pumped! We’ve talked about getting some gear for the fam, but it was just talk! I had no idea…

Like I needed anything else to get me excited for Sunday!

Go Team Waby šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition Nook, Runners Nook, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

