5 Minute Workout: A Quickie at the Playground + baby food fun

Tuesday is rest day number 2 after my 17.5-miler on Sunday. I’m eager and ready to run but I follow the plan and use today as an active rest day. Morning time with the family is great…that is if I can get hubby out of bed to join in the fun! This morning I did 🙂 It’s funny how the simplest task…like my husband getting out of bed early and going for a nice family walk can make my morning bright and sunny. I was also getting antsy about putting up a park workout!

We are very, very fortunate to be located 1 block from the neighborhood park! It doesn’t get much better than that unless I had my own park. If I can feed and dress little bug and out the door before it’s too hot, the park will be our main stop! After a quick 20 minute walk with the fam it was playtime for all. Hubs played some bball, bugs took to the rocks and stairs and I headed for ledges and benches to squeeze in a few minutes of working out! Here is a few of the exercises I did. As always I did them one after another.

Push-ups: 2 sets of 15 but I perform them slowly to really work the arms!

Step-ups: 2 sets of 10 per leg.

Dips: 2 sets of 25 or more
 Pull-ups: 2 sets of 12 or until I couldn’t do them anymore
 Notice how I’m closing my eyes…that sun was a killer this morning! So…you are probably wondering…how does she look so gorgeous in the morning? It’s simple really: 1.) Don’t look in the mirror until right before you leave. 2.) Put you hair in a ponytail. 3.) Find an accessory for your hair that covers most of your head. 4.) Use a million bobbypins to tuck away the stragglers. 5.) Put on random clothes you haven’t worn in ages!

It’s that simple!

What I’m trying to get at with this park workout is that you really do not need fancy workouts every single day. Even just 5 minutes here and there doing basic exercises can make all the difference!

I’ve had a few friends facebook me about healthy food ideas for baby/1-year-olds and thought I’d share a staple in my little girl’s healthy meal plan. Lunch time usually means a sandwich with fruit and veg on the side. Today’s delicacy was a spread of avocado (fruit),tuna (protein),cheese (dairy/protein), and cottage cheese (dairy/protein).
To make the spread I mashed up 1/3 avocado, 2 T tuna, a bit of grated cheddar and about 2 T of cottage cheese. The cottage cheese keeps it from being too dry. Simply mash all the ingredients with a fork and spread on your carb of choice.

I am in love with these thin style buns! Even when refrigerated they still stay soft enough for little bug to chew through! I love them for myself because then the sandwich is less “bunny” and I can actually taste all the goods I slap between the slices.

And they are thin! Baby’s side dishes included 1/3 of a banana and then some mashed broccoli and potato which I made last week and froze into cubes. I still find it easier and more convenient to make and freeze a lot of her veggies.

This is a great spread for adults too…obviously! It tastes nice with some crackers or a pita. I’ll share more baby food ideas when I can get the pics in before the baby goes crazy demanding her eats!

Ok, I’m out. Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 minute workouts, Baby Nook, Nutrition Nook

Leave a Reply

