Runners Nook: 17.5 with a Sweet Sunday on Top!

My Sweet Sunday was minus a hubby for half the day. This made me very sad. Sunday’s are OUR family day, our Sweet Sunday. I was even more sad because my body is still feeling like hell after this mornings 17.5 miles. I apologize for the language but no other word will work. Every muscle fiber from the hips down  are still shaking and when I walk my little girl around, I can’t keep up with her!

But I still had hubs for the first half of Sweet Sunday! I was out the door at 6:30am; the sun was hidden nicely behind some clouds which kept the first few hours of running pleasant and almost on the verge of cool! My choice of fuel during today’s long run was the Clif block shots.

It was my first time trying them. I loved the flavor (strawberry) and the texture. It was miles softer than say a gummy bear but not quite as soft as a warm piece of saltwater taffy. I fueled up with 2 blocks at 8 miles, mile 13 and again at 15 miles. The only complaint is that I had to fold the package in half in order to fit in my running belt. The taste is way better than gels but I like how a gel takes me about 15 minutes to finish versus the 2 minutes for the cubes. Ok, enough running nerd fuel talk.

The run was amazing! I ventured into some new territory which always spices things up. After 10 miles my body felt great and I picked up the pace. I’m working hard on practicing the second half of the run faster than the first half. I would do a fast run for about 15 seconds at the beginning of every song on my Ipod and then go back to my regular pace the remainder of the song. It felt so good to stretch my legs out like this every few minutes.

I was feeling great and moving fast…and then…mile 15. The sun was hiding no more. It was beating down on me hard, it was now hot and I just couldn’t seem to find my stride. I was slowing down big style. My goal was to finish under 3 hours and I didn’t know if I’d be able to do it. Thank goodness for the extra water I got during a bathroom break…about 2 bottles went down the front and back of me. Then something miraculous happened, a burst of energy with 1 mile to go! I was back to sprints and a pace I could be proud of!

I finished in:

2 hours and 50 minutes. My average pace was 9:45 with 7:02 being my best pace (during the sprints of course)!! I was shocked 🙂 I would like to take this time to thank my husband for giving me my Betsy as an earlier bday gift (Forerunner 305), I feel like my old running-self again and even though I’m exhausted, I can’t wait to run again on Wednesday!

Onto food! I met little bug and hubby for bagels at Black Hills Bagels!

I just love these little independent places. The inside was like a chilled coffee shop meets a little cafe.

3 bagels, 1 coffee and 1 iced jasmine green tea later (YUM btw) and we were off to our picnic at Story Book Island!

Hubby had spinach and cheese bagel with onion and chive cream cheese, little bug decided on a whole wheat with fresh strawberry cream cheese (of course we had to scrap off over 1/2 the cream cheese, it was a pink explosion on there), I opted for the California sunflower seed with almond honey cream cheese. I would rate it about a 7. I didn’t order the right combo. Hubby’s bagel was fantastic, rich and addicting compared to mine. But not all hope was lost. Little bug only had a little bit of hers so I sampled hers and it tasted like a little dessert! I also fell in love with the jasmine green tea, so there’s another thing.

Story Book Island was a success, as it should be! Any place that combines slides, swings, Disney and nursery rhythms is a winner for anyone…not just families!

The rest of the day is going to be spent chillin’ with the neighbors, playing with my vintage Playschool toys and recovering in the tub later tonight! My parents are putting the little one to bed so I can take a long soak in the Jacuzzi tub! Yay for free babysitters 🙂

Hope the rest of your Sunday is as sweet as mine!

Let me know what you were up to on this fine day!
Runners, what is your preferred fuel on long runs? 

3 Comments

Filed under Runners Nook

3 responses to “Runners Nook: 17.5 with a Sweet Sunday on Top!

  1. Katie

    Awesome blog!!!! Are you running the crazy horse marathon?? I am running the marathon relay with chels roberts and three others. Would love to see you!!

  2. Pingback: Runners Nook: Take two at 17.5 + Sweet Sweatsuit Sunday! | kristensfitnessnook

Leave a Reply

