Runners Nook: Mountains or the Prairie?

Running in the morning has its benefits!
Crisp air. Cool breezes. Fresh sun. Quiet streets. A new day.

Instead of running into the city/town…whatever you’d call where I live, I’ve opted the last last few runs to stay in the neighborhood zig-zagging the streets looking at all the new houses, judging them of course…thinking to myself, “I like this, I hate that. I love that, I love that more.”

I know I’m not alone in this thought, but I find that when I run in the morning, I eat better the rest of the day!
Today’s yummy delight was overnight oats topped with maple pecan granola, fresh organic strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and raspberries!

So I’ve been asked frequently, Do I miss running the beaches and mountains of Spain?
That vs. This:
Ok, that’s an exaggeration obviously…I do miss the breathtaking views, the smells and the feeling of running in sunny Spain but you know what I love about here…the endless runner-friendly sidewalks, the cool (almost cold) mornings, the numerous neighbors walking their dogs with a morning “hello,” and most of all…I can just lace up my shoes and start right out the door, no driving necessary! Each one has their plus and minuses like everything, right!

Little bug has found the 3lb weights this week.
She loves “working out” with Grandma.

I’m guessing this is how I started 20+ years ago!

We’ve discovered All You Can Eat PANCAKES…for…99 cents!
Check out these babies! 99 cents, can you believe it! Fort Hays which is just down the road hosts this ridiculously crazy deal.

Fort Hays is the little village/post from Dances with Wolves! If you are a non-South Dakotan, Dances with Wolves was filmed with this area.

I love a good tourist photo-op!

But back to these pancakes…they tasted exactly like Perkins pancakes,  and they were just as big!
But 99 cents! It’s a dream for anyone but more-so for a runner and pancake-lover.

Today marked Little bug’s first parade! There were a few celebrity sitings.

Bug’s learned the art of candy-diving:
I found it especially entertaining how much candy was thrown at her. Reason 465 to have a baby…they are parade candy magnets! Just look at the stash she brought in for Mom and Dad!

I’ve consumed more Tootsie Rolls in the last 3 hours than I have in the past 10 years! Way to go Little Bug! Her item of choice was a box of Dots, she thinks it’s a toy and just shakes it like mad! I have a feeling that this will be the only parade where we will get all of the candy!

Upcoming weekend highlights:
Corndogs and lemonade at the fair (hubby and baby’s first USA fair)
7.5 easy Sunday run
Breakfast picnic at the park
Camera looking at Best Buy
…and lots more!

I love weekends!

P.S. This past week I started working again. I haven’t worked since before baby was born; this is the longest I’ve ever gone without working since I was like 16!  Scary stuff. I’m simply working part-time here to bring in some money while we continue looking for professional job in our destined cities! Wish us luck 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Runners Nook

One response to “Runners Nook: Mountains or the Prairie?

  1. Pingback: First Cold Morning run! | kristensfitnessnook

Leave a Reply

