Runners Nook: Breakfast at the Beach

Bee-bee-bee-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep…what the heck, my virtual running partner decided to work 8 miles into my run! “Faster” it flashed. That Forerunner 405 had just turned into a monster!

While my fellow American’s are celebrating the nation’s birthday on this long 4th of July weekend, I had a mini-celebration of my own — 12.5 miles (my longest run in 2 years and 4 months)! You may not find that exciting. In fact, you may just find that, that is punishment. But this girl…oh, I had such a great run! My knees and quads aren’t totally in agreement as I type this but oh, I’m so excited to tell you about it!

With my running-belt full, a snack for the halfway point, electronics charged and 8 hours of sleep, I was as prepared as I could be! I decided it was time to start practicing my realistic split times. I wanted to run the first 4.2 miles around 10:30, the second 4.2 miles at 10:05 and the last 4.1 miles at 9:50.

I started at 7:30, the weather was a bit overcast, slightly warm but not yet hot. P.S. it is almost 100 degrees everyday at this point! Those first 4.2 miles of going slow was not easy. I had to mentally say, “slow down, slow down.” That first leg would also be my last leg and it included 4 hills! Lovely, huh but after all the practice of running up the mountain to Mijas during the week, theseย  — what were once large hills — now seemed more like bumps in the road!

First 4.2 miles average: 10:25

Now I was on flat surface and sped up a bit to a comfortable jog that I know I can hold for a good 10 miles! This was “my time to think” leg of the run. So…what the heck do I think about when I run?

  • I hold a secret fashion contest, who is wearing the craziest outfit today. The winner was a short, very, very old man with long shiny white hair in black spandex legging, a white shirt that was clearly too big and a black bandana with tiny sunglasses!
  • I determine whether the people I see are still out from the night before (very common here). Today’s great sitings: There were 5 girls posing on the beach that could barely stand up. Then a few miles later, a very smelly 30-something male with a 1/2 empty beer bottle strolling along the boardwalk!
  • Who has the cutest dog contest
  • What clothes I need to buy when I move
  • What will I make for supper this week
  • Where is the bathroom!
  • Why aren’t there more public restrooms here!

Second 4.2 miles average: 10:06

Then something terrible happened…my Forerunner 405 (on loan from brother-in-law) started yelling at me! Bee-Bee-Bee-Beep-Beep-Beep-Beep-Beep. What the duece? The virtual training partner kicked in! I had completely forgotten about it. I WAS NOT HAPPY! I was already planning on picking up the pace and now this wrist accessory, this awful monster on my wrist, this THING had the NERVE to tell me “FASTER” every bloody 20 seconds!

My legs were almost shot…I said “almost.” I busted through and kicked it up many notches! Eat that Mr. Evil Forerunner! 4 hills later and my lower back started yelling at me as well, but I kept those abs tight and pushed through! I had many Chariots of Fire moments! Lucky me with .10 to go, I see my little girl out to brekkie with her nana and granddad. Huge smiles and longer strides to end this 12.5 miles the strongest I could!

Last 4.1 miles average: 9:36

I felt amazing, relieved and proud! A round of applause please!

Now time for some grub! The best part about the beach at 9:30am…hardly anyone is there!

A big blanket and the Mediterranean Sea makes for a good stretching atmosphere!

The shoes needed a break as well! I’ve had these for 1 year. 1 YEAR! I normally switch after 4 months. I must say that these are shot to hell! First trip (possibly 2nd trip after Target) in the US will probably be to buy new shoes!

I love stretching, but this is what I would have rather done!

Now time for some brekkie! On today’s menu was Oats in a Jar which I have about 6 out of 7 days a week. I love this easy breakfast…thanks to Kath Eats Real Food!
1/3 c. oats
1/3 c. milk
1/3 c. yogurt
1/2 banana
pop in a jar, stir and leave in ‘fridge overnight!

It was just me, my oats and the views!
‘ You see that bit of land sticking out on the right, that is about 4 miles into the run ๐Ÿ™‚

With aching muscles it was time for an ice bath, but I thought to myself…why not get in the sea?
Unfortunately and fortunately, the sea is finally warm, so I did what any 29-year-old does…jump around into the crashing waves! I felt 10-years old-again! Needless to say I was drenched from the waist down. Wet feet and sand…not a combo I’m a fan of ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bath, baby time, baby nap time, mommy rest time and back up again and it was time for my in-laws to spoil me a bit! Today they took me and little bug to this great little traditional Spanish fish restaurant on the beach where we met up with the brother-in-law and his wife.

In Spain, traditionally everyone orders together a few large raciones of the lovely fried fish, salad and sides and then shares. At first glance it looks disgusting, but it is to die for, especially today. Everything tasted a bit crunchier and fresher (or is it more fresh) than the last time!
I can’t remember everything we ordered buy there was a mixed salad, fried boquerones (my favorite), fried sardines, fries, fried baby salmon (I think) and a few other bits! It doesn’t feel unhealthy either; they are prepared with a light batter and fried to crispy perfection. All they needed was a little vinegar and some lemon ๐Ÿ™‚

Baby did just fine with some bread. She wasn’t too impressed with the place as she preferred to go wave-watching.

The day finished with some time at the park, always a weekend tradition.
Well, I’m exhausted, hubby is now home from England with flapjacks for me — yay, so I must go!

Happy 4th of July to all my fellow Americans!

1 Comment

Filed under Runners Nook, Travel

One response to “Runners Nook: Breakfast at the Beach

  1. I think you are doing so much running I that I felt guilty just sitting around at our Dear Friend Chris’s front yard having coffee and pastries and then homemade plum liqueor??!!

Leave a Reply

