Nutrition Nook: Attack of the Green Monster

Da…dum. Daaaa…dum. Da dum, da dum, da dum, da dum, da…AAAAHHHHHH!!!!!

IT’S COMING FOR YOU!!

It’s the GREEN MONSTER!!!!!! Run for it!
And when I say RUN, I mean, run your couch-potato buns to the grocery store, and raid the spinach section so you can join in the Green Monster Movement!

What is the infamous Green Monster Movement? After reading about it from Dana at My Little Celebration, Kath from Kath Eats Real Food, and the gal behind the movement, Angela from Oh She Glows, I decided well, there must be something I’m missing. 

The Green Monster is simply a green smoothie with spinach (or kale) starring as the lead role!

According to the glowing Angela, 
I have noticed a HUGE increase in my energy, along with a decrease in cravings for sweets. My skin has also become more clear and my hair and nails started growing like weeds!

If you remember from here, than you know that the above testimony was enough for me to give it a go! 

Kristen’s Green Monster Smoothie
3 c. packed fresh spinach
Natural yogurt (although flavored yogurt gives better flavor)
Banana or Apple
Milk

Blend away.
Taste away.

The verdict?
Sweet, refreshing and instantly addicting! I know spinach is one of those fabulous superfoods with endless health benefits, but it goes bad within days of purchasing. THIS is the perfect solution…and it tastes better this way than in a salad!

I’ve tried this a few times now, each time with different fruits and yogurt. I’ve liked adding apple, milk and strawberry yogurt best thus far!

 Try this!! If I didn’t have attachment issues with coffee, I would attempt to use the Green Monster as a replacement.

Ok, I’m off to Zumba (Zumba on Tuesday, I know! The MIL and I are going twice this week) hoping that I’ll have enough energy to make cookies tonight for the upcoming little bug b-day fiesta!

Have a healthy Tuesday!

3 Comments

Filed under Nutrition Nook

3 responses to “Nutrition Nook: Attack of the Green Monster

  1. Kristen I’m glad you liked it! I’m hooked, to!!

  2. Pingback: Something Spanish, Something English is Something Special | kristensfitnessnook

Leave a Reply

