5 Minute Workout: Full Body Tone-up

I’ve been a bit busy.
Cutie pie neice & little bug vs. blogging on a gorgeous weekend. Sorry, but the cuties win every time!

Also, in preparation of a certain little girl’s birthday coming up, I have been baking my proud momma heart out trying to find a moist fluffy chocolate cake recipe and a healthy white or yellow cupcake recipe. So far, 3 recipes in 7 days and I’m caked out! I have found my chocolate cake recipe though 🙂 I’ve had to send about 1/2 the cake with hubby to work ’cause I just can’t look at it without feeling slightly ill.

Plus, I’ve been experimenting with cold salads for our upcoming going away party on July 9th, which we are making an American 4th of July type BBQ! Yay, so much fun.

With all the extra extra cooking craziness I’ve still managed (barely) to squeeze in all my runs! I’ll admit with all the extra taste-testing happening in the kitchen I’ve actually been working out MORE. Guilty tummy syndrome I guess! Little bug is infatuated with playing outside so I’m taking full advantage. Here is the 5 Minute Workout I did 3 times last week. It’s the perfect amount of heart-thumpin’ and muscle pumpin’!

NO EXCUSES. EVERYONE HAS 5 MINUTES.

Move from one to the other without resting
1. Continuus Ball Wall Squats combined with…
>Lateral raises (10-15 reps)
>Bicep curls (10-15 reps)
>Shoulder press (10-15 reps)

2. Jump Squat Thrust Pushup (10-15)
3. Repeat again for 5 minutes o’ fun!

1. Continuous Ball Wall Squats combined with…lateral raise – 10-15 reps
I forgot how much I love wall ball squats, but they are rather boring so I like to add exercises and multi-task a bit!  1.) find wall 2.) dust the weights off and grab the ball. 3.) Place ball against wall so that it comes to the middle of your back while trying to hold the weights. 4.) Try not to fall over while doing that! These were my inner thoughts!

Ok, back to the task. The pics explain it well enough. If you are new to working out, keep a slight bend in the elbows and raise them only to shoulder height. When squatting, make sure your knees don’t go past your toes and as you come back into starting position, press through your heels! After 10-15 reps…KEEP SQUATTING AND MOVE RIGHT INTO…

Bicep Curls – 10-15 reps
Hopefully if your legs are whimpy like mine, you will start to feel it after 10-15 reps of this, but oh no don’t you think about quitting or resting, KEEP SQUATTING AND MOVE INTO…

Shoulder Press – 10-15 reps

If you are pregnant or postpartum, rest 30 seconds to a minute and repeat a few more times. Do not do this next exercise.

2.) Jump Squat Thrust Pushup (10-15)
This is one continuous movement. Perform a jump squat then go into a  plank and pushup and back into a jump squat.

Hopefully that all made sense! I love these, they are a killer! Now do 10-15 of those and go back to Ball Wall Squat sequence and repeat again for 5 minutes! After 5 minutes of this I feel a bit more rejuvenated on those really “off” days.

And speaking of pushups…in the pushup world…still waiting for hubby’s wrist to recover but he’s a goalkeeper on two leagues here and it seems it’s re-injured every weekend! Me sad 😦 The pushups are so much better with a partner! I need someone to shout me on while I’m almost crying on the last set! But I have been kicking butt. After taking these photos, I did 28, 30, 25, 25, 30 (138 total) with 1 minute rest in-between sets! Not to shabby.

The weather has been absolutely stunning and I can’t get enough of it. The weeks ahead are going to be INSANE. INSANE I TELL YOU! 7 weeks from today I fly the friendly skies back to the US. 7 weeks!!!! I’ve got to get crackin’ on the family time and cramming in as much European experiences as I can!! Here are a few events coming up:

Mijas Blues Festival
Trip to “the lakes” for canoeing and paddle boating
Mijas International Food Festival
Gibraltar day trip
Portugal family holiday

Hopefully I can report on all of this. But,  it really is an important 7 weeks for me to spend as much time with hubby’s family and my sister’s family as I’m able to but I’ll try to post as much nutritional/baby/workout info as possible!

Happy Tuesday!

1 Comment

Filed under 5 minute workouts, Leg Workout, Upper Body Workouts

One response to “5 Minute Workout: Full Body Tone-up

  1. Glad you have found your cake recipe,I think my all time favorite was my Grandma Stern’s chocolate cake made with sour creme from the farm,maybe that is why mine never ever tasted like hers.The 2 princesses are so cute,looks like they were very Happy.And why would they not be with all that Love floating around them?

Leave a Reply

