Nutrition Nook: Homemade Mayo

Wednesday already? Where has the week gone? Summer has finally arrived in Spain…about time as well since I have LESS THAN 2 MONTHS LEFT!!! Don’t get me started on the to-do list of the century!

Rewind to last Wednesday…I said I would never put my daughter in a tu-tu (I’m not a girlie kinda girl), but look at me now! I got this as a gift from a good friend back home and I have found different ways to make it “little bug’s” style. And after all, it was a very special occasion, the 4th birthday of my beautiful niece.

The guest list…five 4-year-olds…enough to need a beer that’s for sure! The party was great and the food was even better! My niece is American-Polish and her dad put on a great spread of Polish and American classics: two of them being homemade potato salad and coleslaw. I’m coming right out and saying that it was THE BEST COLESLAW IN THE WORLD. Sweet. Salty. Crunchy. It was runny but not overly runny. The secret to that perfect flavor and the inspiration behind today’s post was Homemade Mayo!

I had to try it!

I know that this is nothing new, but it was new to me. I’ll admit that I do love the proper full-fat mayonnaise. The Spanish stuff here is lethal…mostly because it’s loaded with just the right amount of sugar, salt and fat! But, I’m always looking for ways to save a few cents here and there as well as find a healthier alternative and luckily this recipe is dead-easy.

Did you get all that? This is how lazy I am to find a pen and a piece of paper.

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 tsp (or whatever you prefer) salt
3/4 c. oil (I used extra virgin olive oil)
1 t. lemon juice
You can also add a tsp. of sugar but I chose not to

It’s great because I always have this stuff in the house!

Step 1.) Blend 1 egg and salt for 1-2 minutes

Step 2.) Very, very, very slowly add the oil. I used a liquid measuring cup to pour it into the food processor…letting it trickle in
This is after 1/4 cup of oil

After 1/2 cup…it’s getting thick now! I hope my little food processor can handle it! Adding the oil “very slowly” took about 3 or 4 minutes

Step 3.) Add 1 tsp of lemon juice after all the oil has been added and blend for 30 seconds or so longer until desired consistency is reached!

Finished! It’s mayo baby!


Time for the taste test. Mmmm

Time to jar it up!
Time for The Verdict:
It did taste like mayo but it was very “olive oily” in flavor but EVOO is so good for the body that I felt a lot better smearing this on a cheese and onion sandwich than the regular store-bought stuff. AND, I didn’t need nearly as much. I used this on a BLT salad that I made for my in-laws that night and it was a hit! My MIL hates store mayo but loved this homemade stuff!! Score Kristen šŸ™‚ It’s always good to impress the MIL.

Overall, I think I’ll make it every now and again, like once a month. This makes about 2 cups and keeps for up to a week so I will probably whip this up if I know I’m going to made a salad or other recipe that calls for mayonnaise.

Life is getting crazy here. We are cramming tons of family and friend time over the next two months. Everyday I’m cleaning something, throwing something away, sorting things to give away…it’s never-ending. How did I accumulate so much in 3 1/2 years?

My pushups are doing great.
Monday: 25, 25, 22, 22, 30 (1 minute rest in-between)
Wednesday: 25, 25, 25, 25, 31 (90 seconds rest in-between)
I think the hubby should be on-board for starting again next week with the 100 Pushup Challenge!

My runs are rocking!
I ran all the way up to Mijas for my 3 mile run. All the way. ALL the way up that bloody mountain. It was a great day yesterday for sure. Tonight I’m doing 5 on the beach.

My little bug is almost 1 (insert scream right here)
I can’t believe my little girl is almost 1 year old. She’s taken a few steps but I’m not encouraging it whatsoever…once she’s walking…it’s gonna get crazy around here. We are trying to take advantage of our pool and use it every day with her. So far, so good!

This is the latest “toy” I made for her.
Spice Jar Shaker: It’s just a cleaned out plastic spice jar with pasta. 15 minutes of discovery, giggles and noise…then she figured out how to get the pasta out. Must use tape! (Check out the baby soccer in the back…it’s so cute)

Happy hump day to everyone! Tonight after baby bedtime, I’m trying out a chocolate cake recipe (it looks very naughty I tell you), I’ll be checking back in tomorrow hopefully with a not-too-guilty-of-a-tummy.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby Nook, Nutrition Nook

2 responses to “Nutrition Nook: Homemade Mayo

  1. I will have to try the mayo recipe as we may have our friends here in the next few weeks,something healthy is always better,did Paul use this for the potato salad?And we actually had sun today after some more rain and things just get prettier,got more flowers today and so excited to plant along with some more deer resistant shrubs,deer are pretty but now when they eat your things,I am learning and we have so many great master gardeners out here that can help you at the greenhouses.Are we going to skype this week or wait till next?Next Sat we may do the volksmarch up to Crazy Horse if our friends from SF do it and that would be on Sat

Leave a Reply

