Travel Nook: A visit to the Buddhist Temple

In less than 100 days, my family and I will be rockin’ out on American soil and setting new roots, so I better get crackin’ on that list of mine! Here’s a little refresher:

Kristen’s Wishlist of things to do before we move
Visit the Buddhist Temple in Benalmadena
Eat homemade churros with chocolate
Learn how to make Spanish tortilla
Visit Portugal again
Revisit Ronda
Hit up as many ferias in the area during the summer (Spanish fairs)
Head up to the International Food Festival in Mijas
Take little bug to the Zoo
Actually eat the pastries I take so many pictures of
Find a Spanish antique store and buy some treasures to bring back to America
Have lunch in Old Marbella in Orange Square
Drink lots of Spanish wine
Eat even more Spanish cheese
Take as many photos as possible

Last Thursday, little bug and I set out first thing to visit the Buddhist Temple. Luckily it was only 20 minutes away!

Major dilemma though:

Which resulted in this:

Breakfast Tea, blek! A coffee trip would be essential for this day trip to go well.

It was the perfect day to be a tourist! Free admission, 80 degrees and an empty parking lot!

Unfortunately, it didn’t open until 10:30, so we had an hour to explore!

Hands down one of the best views of the Fuengirola coastline. On a clear day you can see the Rock of Gibraltar and the coast of Africa. You hear the words enlightenment and nirvana over and over with the Buddhist religion and with a view and surroundings like this it’s no wonder they choose this location!

We strolled into town which Benalmadena Pueblo, not to be confused with where I ran last week. The difference with Benalmadena Pueblo is that it’s located up the mountains. After one of the BEST coffees I’ve had, we set out to explore the little village!

Little bug loves water so this was a great 10 minutes of “splash, splash time.” This cute little square housed benches on the side with trees and plotted flowers in between and the center was left open. I can just imagine the excitement this area houses in the night hours with kids playing and the adults chattin’ about their day.

One thing I noticed about this village was the abundance of flowers and plants. They were EVERYWHERE! Some may say it’s cluttered, I say it’s quaint, warming and cheery!

I used to hate flowers! “They are such a waste of money,” I’d say. I have a whole new outlook after living here!

A pretty sweet way to do a tree pot!

Baby fell asleep on the way back to the Temple, so this is what I did…tried not to get stung!

Walking up to the temple was a path of 8 signs which represent the 8 Signs of Good Luck!

I was very lucky on this day! There were only 3 other people visiting at this time and I was able to snap some pics inside. I don’t know why, but I feel a bit rude taking pictures in a place of worship.

The side walls were covered with large painted murals. I’m not sure, but I think the paintings had something to do with the Four Noble Truths: Dukkha, Trsna, Nirvana, and the Eightfold Path.

The picture does not do this justice! The Buddha itself was enormous. Candy, letters, money, and bracelets were all left as offerings to Buddha.

This held a strong incense that filled the temple.

This is the Sacred Mandala = a visual universe created with colored sands to help Buddhists reach Enlightenment. Impressive and very beautiful. I cannot believe this was created with sand!

Little bug was amazing in here. We were about to leave and almost out the door when she squirmed out of my arms and crawled front and center to the Buddha and just sat there are gawked! Not kidding either. Not a peep came out of that mouth. The lady in charge of the Temple gave us some cushions to sit on. We just sat there in silence for about 10 minutes (an hour in mommyland) and took in the experience. It’s hard to explain, but it’s like she “knew” how to behave here.

So…did I feel “enlightened” after our little visit? I don’t know, perhaps a little. It’s hard to go into such a spiritual environment and NOT feel a little more at peace with yourself. Meditation is very important in this religion to help calm the mind so it can be more aware…and if anything, this is what I took away from our short time here. I got more thinking and peace in 10 minutes of sitting in silence than I do sometimes in an entire day! Now THAT is my idea of nirvana! 

Ok, now after typing in “nirvana” that many times, this is all I can think about.

“Off to never never land.” (Sorry if you aren’t a Nirvana fan, you’ll not get that.)

Hope you all had a great weekend! Happpy Easter week to everyone 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Travel, Travel Nook

One response to “Travel Nook: A visit to the Buddhist Temple

  1. Pingback: Travel Nook: Wishlist Update | kristensfitnessnook

Leave a Reply

