Mommy & Baby Moves: Squat Leg Lift & 100 Pushup Challenge

Are you a morning person? I used to be THE morning person…getting up at 4:30am and out the door at 5am for a morning run during training season. Shower, breakfast and at work by 8! But, the southern Spanish culture changed that rather quickly. Not much opens before 10. Getting up early means waking before 7:30. Breakfast at 10. Lunch at 2. Supper at 9. Crazy huh! With little bug though, I’m trying to relearn my old ways now so that the transition back to U.S. culture won’t take the life out of me. ENTER: MOTIVATION MONDAY

I always jam pack my Monday’s in order to get ahead for the week. From sun up to sun down, the only time my butt hits a chair is to either feed little bug or do computer work! Does anyone else do this? Baby food making, laundry, US Green Card paperwork, Spring cleaning, working out, research on various workouts, emails, prep supper, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah…and I’ve hardly cracked my week’s list. Grrr. But that’s why we have 5 working days and not 1 I guess!

I started doing this Mommy & Baby Move randomly in front of the microwave one day while I was waiting for my coffee milk to heat up. This can be done as soon as baby can support his/her head well.

SQUAT LEG LIFT
How easy is that: Just squat and as you come up, lift one leg out. And look how happy she is to be working out with momma! Lift your leg as high as you comfortably can.

Repeat on other side. You could either do your reps all on one side and switch or alternate with each repetition. This is a nice one for the back side šŸ™‚

Check out the socks! She’s got her own logo.

On to other biz and I’m very excited about this, I found this 100 Push-Up Challenge through Blonde Ponytail. Definitely check it out if you have a chance. The claim: if I follow the 6 week program, I will be on my way to completing 100 pushups (military style) consecutively.

This is right up my street! Hubby decided to take the challenge as well and after our initial test we were both placed into category 3. We simply follow the prescribed pushups on Mon, Wed and Fri for our group and bam, in 6 short weeks…super-sexy-arms. And since hubby and I are competing against each other (we never miss an opportunity to get competitive), the prize will be a 30 minute massage! Bring it on. Bring. It. On.

Here was our Week 1. Day 1 Plan (60 second rest in-between sets)
10, 12, 7, 7, 9 (45 total)

Easy! Right?
I felt like my arms were ripped off and moving independently from my body. Oooowwww and some other words I don’t think would be appropriate to type.

And then I proceeded to injure myself while getting up. (You may have to squint to see that little scrape) Oh, my poor knee is flawed for life now.

Motivation Monday rocked and after the last two Terrible Tuesday’s, I will be upping the coffee intake to 3 tomorrow to avoid a 3-peat performance. Even though the Grandparents are out-of-town we will still do date night but little bug will just have to join us! Here’s what the rest of my week looks like in terms of running.

Here she is coaching and monitoring my pushups! Happy Motivation Monday y’all!

IN THE MAKING: 5 Minute Workout: Can’t resist the resistance band

4 Comments

Filed under Mommy & Baby Moves

4 responses to “Mommy & Baby Moves: Squat Leg Lift & 100 Pushup Challenge

  1. Mike Vastano

    I’m starting the 100 push ups today. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

