5 Minute Workout: Cardio Blast

I am absolutely in love with this week’s 5 Minute Workout! My heart was beating out of my chest by the end, which is a thumbs up in my book!

This is my “get me out of my crappy, lazy mood workout.” If you find yourself needing some cardio but feel glued to the couch, unmotivated or short on time but still want to feel like you did “something” in terms of cardio…this should do the trick and maybe, just maybe after the 5 minutes are complete and the endorphins are flowing…you’ll feel like your ol’ self again!

NO EXCUSES. EVERYONE HAS 5 MINUTES.

Do each exercise for 30 seconds. NO rest in between!
1. Jumping Jacks
2. Step-Ups
3. Shuffle
4. Jump Rope
5. High Knees
6. Repeat 1-5 for 5 minutes o’ fun!

Do them like you mean it people! Woo Hoo!

Use a short step and it’s simply: up, down, up, down, up, down

Hated these in the volleyball days but love them now. GREAT for runners because our bodies NEED side to side training that running doesn’t bring. The area you use doesn’t have to be long, I think mine is about 10 feet long and works fine.

Don’t have a jump rope? Well just pretend you do. Probably better that way too because it’ll then be constant jumping and you don’t need to worry about tripping all over yourself!

You knew I’d save the best for last! Think of it as running in place but bringing the knees as high up as you can!

Now do all 5 again and…WOOPAA you have 5 minutes! This cardio blast is perfect to incorporate before or after other 5 minute workouts I’ve shown.

I completely scrubbed out for this workout. I had limited sun left and just returned from my run up to Mijas (posting my results tomorrow). But give me a little credit, I kept it a bit dressy by showcasing my Barcelona Marathon finisher shirt 😉

DO THIS WORKOUT! You’ll feel like a kid again, you’ll feel less mushy, you’ll give that heart a workout, you’ll love it! It’s like an energy drink but without the drink part!

Ta, ta!

NEXT IN LINE: Runners Nook: Mijas Mountain. take 1

2 Comments

Filed under 5 minute workouts

2 responses to “5 Minute Workout: Cardio Blast

  1. Love this! What a great idea…sometimes I’m feeling lazy and use time as an excuse to skip a workout…but just taking 5 minutes to get your heart pumping does a lot of good! And sometimes it puts you in the mood to do more!

Leave a Reply

