Pregnancy Workout (part 2)

Continuing from last week’s Pregnancy Workout (part 1) I talked about the numerous planks I incorporated. I think I was understating that statement. I forgot how much I really was obsessed with doing any and every form my body could handle. (Again, please see part 1 for “disclaimer central” on preggie exercises)

Kristen’s Pregnancy Workout (part 2): 2-3 sets of each exercise

1. Ball Planks – hold for 5-10 seconds
2.Plank with leg lift – 20 reps (10 per side)
3. Side Plank with twist – 10 reps (5 per side)
4. Side Lunges – 20-30 reps (10-15 per side)

BALL PLANKS

I love this because it looks quite easy, but don’t get too excited yet! Doing a simple plank on the ball is a great challenge for the core and balance. You can also pair with Ball Pushups if you feel comfortable. If the belly isn’t appreciating this move, skip the ball and just do a regular plank! Belly Knows Best is what I say!

PLANK WITH LEG LIFT

The inner fitness nerd is out again! I love the balance, strength, stretch combo this exercise brings. If you can’t see it well enough, it’s simply getting into a plank, then bring one knee into your chest and finally, extend out and hold for a few seconds. Then go back 2.b and continue back to 2.c!

SIDE PLANK WITH TWIST

If you’ve ever done a Pilates DVD or class, you will probably recognize this one! For a simpler variation, bend the bottom leg in and balance on the bent leg.

SIDE LUNGES
I featured this in a 5 minute workout a few weeks ago. When belly takes over, eliminate the reach.

The moves in these 2 workouts are pretty much at the top of my Fitness Pregnancy Hall of Fame!

CARDIO:
I tried to “move” everyday even if it meant a short walk but I was very lucky in that I ran 3-5 times a week throughout. If you are running after the second trimester, I highly recommend running at a gym or somewhere with a close bathroom because let me tell you that in even a short run, I used the bathroom every 5-10 minutes. Good times!

STRETCHING:
Holding plie’ squats or getting into a deep plie’ squat and holding it for up to 10 seconds is great for “the baby having area.” Anything for the inner thigh muscles basically. I did take a pic of this but didn’t feel particularly comfortable showcasing that gem on here! Stretching in general is very important for childbirth because you never know what crazy position the doctor will have you in or what positions will make contractions more comfortable.

Pregnant or not, all of these exercises rock in my book! They’re challenging yet safe if your body is in the right shape. If you are pregnant or have had a baby, are there any exercises you swear by?

Let me know if there is anything else you’re curious about that I did during pregnancy or if you have questions about working out while expecting!

Almost 8 months hiking the steep hills in Rhonda in sweltering heat.

It was our “baby moon”

6 Comments

Filed under Ab Workouts, Pregnacy

6 responses to “Pregnancy Workout (part 2)

  1. Katie

    Kris I’m LOVING the pregnancy workouts! Did Part One both days this weekend and woke up sore each day. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your wisdom!

  2. Great post! What are your thoughts on the Pregnancy Fit Kit? Their website is http://www.PregnancyFitKit.com I was thinking about getting one because a friend just loves hers. Thanks for sharing your insight.

    • Hi Ariana, thanks for the great comment 🙂 I would take a serious look at everything this kit entails. Would you really do the videos? If you cannot answer YES and make a plan and commitment to do them, then I would spend your money on buying just a ball and workout band. I know so many people who buy DVDs and workout videos but never do them more than once. This looks like a great product though and I’m totally in favor of anything that promotes healthy and realistic fitness while pregnant. Also, borrow your friends videos and try them out for yourself. Make sure the videos are at your fitness level. If they are simply too easy or boring, then the videos aren’t for you. I hope this helps.

  3. Pingback: Confessions of a Cookie Addict | kristensfitnessnook

  4. Pingback: Nutrition Nook: Just Beet It! | kristensfitnessnook

Leave a Reply

