Pregnancy Workout (part 1)

I’ve gained too much.
I’ve gained too little.
I ate too much.
I ate too little.
SHOULD I eat that vs. CAN I eat that vs. I NEED to eat that.

It seems that for the 9+ months of pregnancy, women go mad – myself included – for anything nutrition or fitness related. You hear conflicting “advice” everywhere from your grandmother to the internet to the random checkout lady you’ve never met. Today I’m adding to that “advice.” Take this post as you like. I’m simply sharing some of the exercises that worked for me during pregnancy (and after as well).

This entire post is one GIANT ENORMOUS disclaimer. Don’t be an idot and do these exercises if you feel pain or don’t feel right doing them. Not every pregnant person is the same. Ok! Got it!

I kept my exercises very basic concentrating on the “classics” as I like to call them, adding in tons of planks and religiously performing my favorite moves. It’s hard enough to motivate oneself each day to workout during pregnancy, I figured it’s best to do ones that I enjoyed doing! I also incorporated pregnancy yoga and many pilates moves that required lying on my side.

Kristen’s Pregnancy Workout (part 1): 2-3 sets of each exercise
1. Ball Pushups – as many as I could
2. Alternating Walking Lunges – 40 reps (20 per side)
3. Opposite Arm/Leg Raises –  20 reps (10 per side)
4. Side Plank (with opptional leg lift) – 20 reps (10 per side)

BALL PUSHUPS

I started out using a ball and once the belly took over, then I did them on my knees. It’s especially important to keep your stomach in tight. Be very careful when getting into position as your balance may not be as good during pregnancy.

ALTERNATING WALKING LUNGES

This is one of my all-time fav leg exercises! I have no idea why but it’s great. Once your belly grows, make sure to really keep those shoulders pulled back which will help your posture. Forgive the form in 2.a isn’t quite right (knee is too far forward).

OPPOSITE ARM/LEG RAISES

I’m not going to lie, I hate doing lower back exercises with a passion but at the end of the day, you gotta do them! Nothing is worse than nagging lower back pain…especially when the pounds start to add up. Start on all fours, raise the right arm to shoulder height and the left leg to hip height. Hold for 2 counts. Go back to start position and repeat with the other side.

SIDE PLANK with opptional leg lift

I started doing this exercise long before pregnancy so I just continued doing it throughout. It’s a toughie! If you really want a challenge, hold the leg up for a few seconds! HUGE disclaimer on this exercise! Please do not do this if you are not already in “plank shape.”

For those who are NOT expecting a baby, this is a great way to really make a side plank more challenging. I was so excited when I was able to start doing this again. This falls into that “fun” exercise move category for me! Man I sound like a little fitness nerd!

Ok folks, that’s all for now. See, I really didn’t do anything magical or special during pregnancy; my “magic pill” was consistency! I’ll share a few more pregnancy exercises next week.

RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER: Travel Nook – Am I ready to leave Spain?

1 Comment

Filed under Ab Workouts, Leg Workout, Pregnacy, Upper Body Workouts

One response to “Pregnancy Workout (part 1)

  1. Pingback: Pregnancy Workout (part 2) | kristensfitnessnook

Leave a Reply

