Nutrition Nook: Cheese Squares (6 months +)

I didn’t move to Spain for the rainy weather, but that is what today has delivered! Crappy, ugly gray skies followed by ruin-any-opportunity-to-do-anything-outside-RAIN! But as a former-farmgirl…what do we do on these days….anyone???…bake some goodies!!!!!

I decided it was time to home-make my little bug a healthy treat and I decided on Cheesy Squares compliments of Healthy First Foods for Your Baby by Caitilin Finch. She says that babies can start on these at 6 months. But I must tell you that they are great for all ages! I remember “borrowing” a few of these off my niece a few years back!

I don’t know about you but I’m totally okay with buying this type of thing from the grocery store but these are so Easy, Cheap and Healthy with, NO sugar, NO salt, and NO added flavoring crap that I just feel better making them myself!! (If you have toddlers, these would be great to make together)

Let’s get bakin’!!

Ingredients:
1 c. flour (I used plain, but I’d try whole wheat next time)
3.5 tbsp of butter
6 tbsp cold water
2 tbsp cheese (mild cheddar if you have a baby)

1. Pre-heat over to 355 F or 180 C.

Put flour and butter into a mixing bowl and rub together until they form a breadcrumb texture

Add the water and stir with fork

 

Roll out dough on a floured surface and sprinkle on the grated cheese. Roll the cheese into the pastry.

Fold the pastry in half and roll out again. Fold in half a SECOND time and roll pastry out into a square shape

Cut with knife, pastry cutter or pizza cutter as I used into 1 inch squares, or you can do 1/2 inch strips and twist

Place on tray and bake for 15 minutes until they have a golden color.

Cool and enjoy!

I did this recipe from start to finish in less than 30 minutes…

…all while little bug ran around in her walker!

 

We had to resort to an indoor workout today. Luckily my in-laws have a nice little home gym next door with a X-trainer/Elliptical machine. I’m not the biggest fan of X-trainers but if I increase my resistance often enough, I luckily can get in 20 minutes before little bug loses interest in her ball workout. Here’s what I did:


This X-trainer goes up to a level 12 and since I only have about 20 minutes of baby bliss, I go hard the whole time. It’s been a while since I’ve done this so I was a bit jello-y when finished!

Level 10 baby! Go hard or go home…well, home is next door for me

My little bug’s  “ball workout”

We followed this with some Mommy & Baby exercises until lunch time! It was nice little workout to start the weekend! Happy, Happy Weekend everybody!

COMING UP: NEW 5 minute workout!

1 Comment

Filed under Nutrition Nook

One response to “Nutrition Nook: Cheese Squares (6 months +)

  1. Those look fabulous,we will have you do that here!! Have nearly all your things in your room,my it got smaller in there??!!

Leave a Reply

