LookBack: Madrid day trip

Yesterday, hubby and I made the 5 1/2 hour drive to Madrid, gave the US Embassy a nice little visit and then drove back home. But in between all that I managed to get my inner-tourist out and saw a bit of this fabulous capital!

I am the eternal tourist and I really got to bring her out as this was my first visit to Madrid. I love looking at the architecture, scoping out the local fashion, and drooling over the baked goods and fresh cheeses. I’m taking a bit of a fitness break to show some quick highlights from Madrid.


After our date with the Embassy we went for a little brekkie. This cafe’ was so cool! When you stepped in, all you saw was a delectable counter of goodies, you actually had to go downstairs to eat. It had a dungeon/wine cellar feel to it. The people and music being played made me feel like I was on an episode of Frasier. Me in my USD hoodie fit right in (I know, 29 and in a hoodie, but it was so cold, I refused to change into my planned outfit). We chowed-down on a bread basket with a selection of 4 breads along with a variety of spreads like  praline butter (yum), rhubarb, strawberry and sweet orange jam! I tell ya, my taste buds were going crazy. I was in sweet tooth heaven! …Oh, and coffee, duh.

I spent a lot of breakfast translating this sign. I did a pretty dang good job too. Only took 3 years to be able to read a dessert menu!

 

This building has naked to semi-naked people painted on it. Very beautiful

 

Some more nakedness on this building! No I don’t have an obsession. I didn’t even notice until I put them on the computer! The attention to detail each building has is mindblowing.

 

This is the P ost Office…how cool is that!

 

I would love to be pulled by lions

 

It’s the Back To the Future clock…sweet

 

I came all this way to see Nebraska (restrauant)…you’ve got to be kidding me!

It was a great quick-trip but it was even greater to get home to our little bug. This was the longest I’d gone without seeing her and I was given many cuddles and kisses today to show how much I was missed. Today was a great day! Luckily we passed out last night by 10 and therefore I got almost 10 hours of sleep. How many moms can say that? I made it to my weekly Zumba class (Yay me) and I’m now re-energized and ready to crank out some new fitness blogs and ideas! I’ll be back tomorrow with something fun and punishing for the muscles.

I want to thank those who’ve been sending questions and messages via Facebook! I plan on creating and posting workouts for your specific concerns as soon as I can. If you have any type of workout you’d like developed (example…workout to help get rid of your “spare tire”) please let me know and I’ll do my best!

Leave a comment

Filed under LookBack, Travel

Leave a Reply

