Mommy & Baby Moves: Pilates Rollup

Once your baby starts taking steps forward with your assistance, this is a great move to do! If your baby cannot do this, you can “bounce” him/her to imitate the walking movements. This is modified from a Winsor Pilates DVD I did in the past. It’s a bit technical in form, so I’m showing quite a few photos today to illustrate.

My little bug and I are constantly on the ground playing and this another fun one that makes her giggle with glee! A great motivator indeed! AND because of her weight it’s an added bonus because it’s making my ab muscles and arms stronger!

Sit with your legs straight, abs tight, back straight and your arms in front of you holding on to your baby’s hands.

 

As you walk baby towards you, slowly roll all the way down, feeling each vertebra press into the ground. When you are almost lying flat, place hands under baby’s arms and start pushing baby up. (Try not to let your feet pop up, but worry about baby’s safety first)

 

Once you are flat, raise your baby above your chest. This is a good time to wiggle baby around and bring her/him to your face for some extra smooches. Make sure you have control of baby the entire time.

 

Now, with baby still in the air,  squeeze your abs and slowly roll your torso up and forward and place the baby back into the starting position! (If your arms are not strong enough, place baby on your chest and stomach while your roll forward)

I’ll never put recommended reps as that is not the purpose of Mommy & Baby Moves, simply do and enjoy the extra time together.

 

Working out with my little bug comes naturally to me; perhaps it’s because my mother worked out with me when I was a baby too! I figure it’s never too early to set a good example.

What a little poser!

 

COMING NEXT: Nutrition Nook: Coffee-ology

Leave a comment

Filed under Ab Workouts, Mommy & Baby Moves

Leave a Reply

