Pregnancy Nook: before, before and after

2 1/2 weeks postpartum already! The hormones have finally evened out and my “birthing muscles” don’t feel as if they are going to fall out anymore! It is time to start some form of a workout plan and say/write this because I NEED to do something just for ME that involves getting out of the house.  From little bug enjoying my time off work (play with me mommy), to working on the house and getting ready for the in-laws to visit, and regular mommy chores and the fact that I can’t be away from baby C any longer than a couple of hours due to nursing…it’s a crazy state of always being busy. So the unfortunate part here is that I really have to plan to make these workouts happen; once I’m done nursing, it’s shoes-on and out the door…no time for doddling!

I have worked out a whopping 2 times. Workout 1 was a 30 minute walk with the stroller 4 days after birth…not a good idea about 8 hours after the fact. My pushing muscles were aching and I thought they were going to fall out…plus my hormones were up and down like a roller coaster and I ended up staying in bed for about 12 hours that next day. Workout 2 was a stroller jog with little bug on Sunday…a huge success and this motivated me to start-up again! 

Plan of attack: I’m keeping this simple, workout every other day with a focus on running/walking and lots of pelvic floor exercises. The pelvic floor exercises will not only help get the “birthing muscles” back in shape but also help flatten the belly and make running a heck of a lot easier (and safer). 

For fun here are the before, before, after pics.

5 weeks pregnant:
Week5_a

Week5_b

39 weeks pregnant (4 days before baby C was born): weight gain was 28 lbs doctor’s scale, 26 pounds home scale.

Week 39_a

2 weeks postpartum: down about 16 pounds so about 9 to 10 pounds to go if I want to hit pre-pregnancy weight.

2WeeksPost_b

2WeeksPost

Luckily nursing is going to suck most the weight off but I know that about 5 will stay on due to nursing and needing extra fat. I’m not super concerned about the weight, I just want to be active again. It feels as though I’m glued to the recliner and boppy all day! I crave movement!

On the family front…I AM loving this time around SO much more! The ease and confidence have helped the transition into mommyhood of two. Hubby and I are beaming!!

DSCN4401

DSCN4415

DSCN4419

4 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy, Runners Nook

4 responses to “Pregnancy Nook: before, before and after

  1. Bridget Lee

    You are amazing!! You make fitness, busy mom and everything else look so easy! CONGRATS to you and your family!

  2. Pingback: Before, after, after: 2 months postpartum | kristensfitnessnook

  3. wow……this is great!! how do u do it?…am 4wks n after dinner i already look like am 3mnths. .lol…share the tip

Leave a Reply

